2013 CFJC Golf tournament raises funds and fun

Jun 05, 2013

The breezy, sunny day yielded fun and prizes for nearly everyone! Thirty foursomes equaling 120 golfers participated in the sixth annual golf outing hosted by the Community Foundation of Johnson County.

Mary Westbrook, CFJC chair, welcomed golfers and thanked them for their help to raise funds for the Community Foundation. "The Foundation is a homegrown, community organization that engages and serves a lot of people and helps many nonprofit agencies in our area." The golf outing raffles and contests make the tournament special, Westbrook added. "Our sponsors know they are supporting a great cause. This year funds raised from the CFJC Golf Outing will benefit CFJC Community Impact."

More than 30 volunteers, many members of the Iowa City AM Rotary, were on hand to help with registration and golfing contests for 32 teams of golfers.

The Charity Ball Drop featuring $7,500 in prizes capped the day's activities. The Coralville Fire Department dropped more than 1,000 golf balls from the department's ladder truck. The numbered balls landing in the cup drew cash prizes for winners: Jane McCune - $500, Dan Harney - $500, Mike Hodge - $500; Tom Huff - $1,000, and Jim Anderson - $5,000.

First, second and third place winners in four flights were awarded numerous golf prizes:
1st flight, 1st place: Chuck Skaugstad, Kevin Digmann, Andy Meardon, Lynn Rowat-52
1st flight, 2nd place: Mike Stoffregen, Adam Klenske, Pat Greteman, Nate Stoffregen-54
1st flight, 3rd place: Steve Gordon, Mike Diers, Gregg Bentler, Scott Pantel-55

2nd flight, 1st place: Joe McCarragher, Chris McDonnell, Randy Laing, Brian Donohoe-60
2nd flight, 2nd place: Hass Machlab, Joe Barry, Doug Steffen, Mark Schuchard-60
2nd flight, 3rd place: Mike Tschantz, Jay Davidson, Mitch Strang, (John Bowen) Peterson-60

3rd flight, 1st place: Pat Harney, Tim Krumm, Denny Visser, Dan Driscoll-64
3rd flight, 2nd place: Steve Droll,Dennis Cronk, Rochelle Dietiker, Nick Faselt-65
3rd flight, 3rd place: Gary Werle, Bill Madden, Mike Bender, Bob Lackman-66

Contest winners included the following golfers:
Hole 1 - Shortest Drive wins Golf Round with Brown Deer Pro, Mary Rita Burns
Hole 3 - Women's Long Drive wins Tru Salon gift card, Doris Rittenmeyer
Hole 4 - Long Putt wins $50 American Express gift card, Aaron Votroubek
Hole 7 - Long Putt (men) wins Men's golf shirt and dozen golf balls, Sam Pulkrabek
Hole 10 - Long Putt wins Stella's $50 gift card from Ameriprise, Jeff Stone
Hole 16 - Long Putt wins Golf Round with Brown Deer Pro, Jack Tank
Hole 18 - Long Drive Men wins Blackstone $50 gift card, Doug Steffen

Many of the golfers practiced putting before the tournament in hopes of winning one of three prizes as well as a hole-in-one prize – a car from Toyota of Iowa City.

The Tee Off / Team Up committee members included Casey Cook, chair, Joe Wegman, Luke Prottsman, Rochelle Dietiker, Mike Messier, Tim Krumm, Chuck Skaugstad, Greg Turner, Mike Stoffregen and Brianna Ries, intern for the 2013 event. CFJC Board members organized the Charity Ball Drop.

Tags: Golf Outing
Category: What's New