2014 CFJC Golf tournament raises funds and fun

Jul 03, 2014

The breezy, sunny day yielded fun and prizes for nearly everyone! Twenty-nine foursomes equaling 116 golfers participated in the seventh annual golf outing hosted by the Community Foundation of Johnson County.

Tim Krumm, CFJC president, welcomed and thanked golfers for their help raising funds for the Community Foundation. "The Foundation is a homegrown, community organization that engages and serves many people and nonprofit agencies in our area." The golf outing raffles and contests make the tournament special, Krumm added. "Our sponsors know they are supporting a great cause. This year funds raised from the CFJC Golf Outing benefits CFJC Community Impact."

More than 30 volunteers, many members of the Iowa City AM Rotary, were on hand to help with registration and contests for golfers.

The Charity Ball Drop featuring $7,500 in prizes capped the day's activities. The Coralville Fire Department dropped more than 650 golf balls from the department's ladder truck. The numbered balls landing in the cup drew cash prizes for winners: Gail Kelier, Bill Bywater, Maggie Elliott and Jay Berry.

First, second and third place winners in three flights were awarded numerous golf prizes:

Championship Flight:
First place: Nick Tallman, Jared Tebockhorst, Chris Gregg, Dave Yanacek – score 57
Second place: Kevin Digmann, Andy Meardon, Chuck Skaugstad, Jr. Lynn Rowat – score 58
Third place: Adam Reish, Doug Funke, Brent Tegels, Mike Tschantz – score 60

Foundation Flight:
First place: Ken Williamson, Adam Klenske, Chad Scarberry, Brian McConnell – score 64
Second place: Tim Krumm, Doug Ruppert, Bill Sueppel, Sean Wandro – score 64
Third place: Brad Zuber, Bob Burns, Rita Burns, Roger Reilly – score 64

Winners Flight:
First place: Kelly Mitchell, Mike Manfull, Josh Root, Will Edge – score 67
Second place: Curt Heideman, Justin Parker, Ben Fortune, Roger Simpson – score 67
Third place: Greg Lynch, Cliff McClure, Steve Hirko, Casey Cook – score 68

Many of the golfers practiced putting before the tournament in hopes of winning one of three prizes as well as a hole-in-one prize – a car from Toyota of Iowa City.

The Tee Off / Team Up committee members included Casey Cook, chair, Joe Wegman, Luke Prottsman, Rochelle Dietiker, Mike Messier, Tim Krumm, Chuck Skaugstad, Greg Schroeder, Greg Turner, Mike Stoffregen and Erin Foust, intern for the 2014 event. CFJC Board members organized the Charity Ball Drop.

Tags: Golf Outing
Category: What's New