CFJC appoints board members, elects officers

Jul 31, 2017

The Community Foundation of Johnson County elected officers and appointed new board members for the 2018 fiscal year. Both were installed in July.

Elected to serve three-year board terms were Susan Brennan, ICCSD Foundation, and Mary Westbrook, community volunteer, and Charles "Charlie" Nusser, who works in the family’s jewelry business, Hands Jewelers. Mr. Nusser represents the third generation of his family to serve on the CFJC Board. His grandfather, Willard “Sandy” Boyd was a founding board member of CFJC. Mr. Nusser’s mother and Mr. Boyd’s daughter, Betsy Boyd, served two terms on the CFJC Board.

New officers for the fiscal year, July 1, 2017, through June 30, 2018, are: CFJC President Sarah Maiers, US Bank; CFJC Vice President Janet Godwin, ACT; CFJC Secretary, Steve Weeber, Nalco Chemical Company (retired); and CFJC Treasurer Dean Price, RSM.

Retiring board members, Ms. Boyd, Maggie Elliott, Melvin Shaw and Joe Wegman, were recognized for their contributions and service to the organization.

CFJC Executive Director Dave Lewis said, “Our board members provide vital leadership to help the Community Foundation grow and award funds that benefit the Johnson County community. Their service, commitment, as well as their individual skills, expertise and guidance these community-minded leaders provide the foundation is essential to our initiative to serve the community.”

The Community Foundation of Johnson County advances philanthropy by connecting nonprofits with donors who care. The Foundation administers $26 million in assets and has distributed more than $11 million in grants. CFJC supports more than 200 nonprofit organizations, family funds and community fund affiliates at a cost of less than 2 percent.  CFJC accomplishes its goal – grow philanthropy for the greater community good . . . for good  . . . forever.

Category: What's New